Return to Headlines

Seven musicians chosen for Districts

The District 12 of Pennsylvania Music Educators Association (PMEA) is pleased to announce the selected musicians for the 2020-2021 District 12-Level Band, Choir, and Orchestra from Sun Valley High School.  Students from schools in Chester, Delaware, and Philadelphia Counties are eligible to be selected for District 12 honors. 

District Band
Nathan McCarty, Percussion
Kayden Maiorine, Percussion
District Choir
Autumn Brown, Alto
Nicole Buscaglia, Alto
Abby Chambers, Soprano
Je’Myah Richardson, Soprano
Chiara Robinson, Soprano
The participants who were awarded places in the PMEA District 12 Ensembles were selected for their outstanding musicianship during a virtual audition process. Students received a score and additional commentary provided by area District 12 Music Educators. 

Historically, students chosen for District honors converge on a selected school to learn and rehearse music with a professional conductor for a concert held for participant's families.  Due to the pandemic, the multi-day event will not take place.  

The top students from District 12 (as determined based on the statewide formulas) will be eligible to submit a recording to be considered for the All-State event to be hosted in April. 

The Pennsylvania Music Educators Association (PMEA) is a statewide nonprofit organization of over 4,000 members, dedicated to promoting the musical development of all Pennsylvanians. The present membership evolved from a small group of band directors dating from 1933. Today, the organization includes those engaged in music instruction at all levels, from preschool through college and university, as well as those in the music industry, merchandising and publishing. The organization promotes and supports quality music education, learning and performance as well as promoting and supporting music education in schools and communities.

Sun Valley regularly sends students to audition and participate in District, Regional, and State concerts.  Congratulations to our musicians who made the cut this year.